The Four Habits You Need, And How To Start Them

Oscar Lagrosen
3 min readJan 7, 2022

Keystone Habits are the most important habits, creating a domino effect of positive chain reactions. Therefore, it is no surprise that you should prioritize them to make other habits come easier to you.

My productivity methodology 1-Glance, the simplest system for maximum effectiveness, consists of only four keystone habits that you do every day:

  • Checking your calendar between every activity of the day (Extreme Calendar Usage)
  • Spending 2–10 minutes after each activity for cleanup and preparation (Thorough Exits)
  • Allocating 20–60 minutes to process your input and update your plans (Daily Update)
  • Writing down every recurring thought, idea, or negative emotion immediately when you have them (Non-Stop Capture)

Read below to find how you can start each habit, one by one. Only start the next one when the previous one is automatic.

Extreme Calendar Usage

After the calendar and its widget is set up on your phone (read here for details), write down the following to yourself:

  • “Before I do something new, I check my home screen. If the calendar does not accurately reflect my current reality, I adjust it quickly so it does”

--

--

Oscar Lagrosen

My articles are transcripts from my YouTube videos. Watch the original videos here: https://www.youtube.com/@oscar-lagrosen